Back on that Horse

I know, I’ve been gone for quite some time. Things got a little crazy with traveling and work and then traveling again ,and I became a little burnt out on real life and anything that had to do with not sleeping or ‘achieving goals.’ So over rated.

It didn’t help that I bit off a little more than I could chew with a few different projects I had going at once. One of which I can’t figure out how the h-e-double hockey sticks to put together (the Chantilly) and what the heck I should line it with :/  All this lead up to a big giant road block that I couldn’t seem to hope over.

So I came up with a game plan: hop back on that horse.  Best way to do that? A super awesome easy-peasey pattern that will boost my self-esteem and get me sewing again.  Insert:  Wiksten’s tank top + dress sewing pattern (here).  She released it as a PDF and I just HAD to get it (that instant gratification always gets me.  but then it’s followed by cutting out and taping tons of paper together, which slightly lessens the satisfaction).

The pattern is super easy and flattering.  A front, a back, a pocket and a little bias tape.  That’s it! It just reeks of ‘please make multiple copies of me!’

I made the dress version with a few slight changes. I added an inch and a half to the length because, as they say, I ‘got legs for days.’  I also lined the dress, as the material was a little see-though.  I think it turned out pretty swell. The fabric is some weird synthetic blend of sorts, but I really like the colors.  I plan on wearing this at Coachella in a few weeks.

          

With a little help from daylight savings time and my favorite cooking/brownie-eating partner we have an actual picture of me in something I made. Yay!

And here’s me trying to take a picture of myself (classic):

There’s going to be a few more of these in the future, that’s for sure.  I’m thinking one with a lace back, and another that I can try out a little block printing technic on.  And possibly a third in chambray with a pocket.

I feel better.  It’s good to be back.

Leave a Reply

