Corduroy

One of my favorite books when I was a kid was the book Corduroy, about a little stuffed bear at a department store that was trying to find a button for his overalls.  I don’t remember the whole story, but I do remember there was some sewing involved.  Foreshadowing my friends, foreshadowing.

Coincidence?

Green Overalls. Green Skit. Coincidence? I think not!

Fast forward till the second week of February, 2013 and guess who finally finished a project?!  Whooooohooo, this girl!

That’s right.  I was inspired but the ever adorable Tilly and this post to pick up a copy of Grainline’s Moss Skirt pattern.  And tell you what, I’m so glad I did.  It is just the perfect amount of simple and adorable.  I pulled out all the stops too, finished the edges properly and topstitched like a queen.  I decided to lengthen the skirt and ended up adding 3 inches.  Which was a bit tricky because I didn’t have any tape to adjust the pattern. (Don’t worry, I MacGyvered my way out of that situation.)

The material is some olive-green corduroy that made the trek with me across the pond.  I was going to make a Colette Parfait with it, but decided the fabric was too thick for that dress.  Didn’t realize Tilly’s version was corduroy too until I was typing this up.  Is corduroy back? Is that A thing? I’m never sure.  But I do know it’ll be lovely with some tights as the weather gets warmer.

DSC_1647DSC_1649

The only thing I would change is the zipper. I used a chunky zipper and it looks a little wonky when I put it on.  I also did something weird when I made up the fly, not sure what.  To tell you the truth, I didn’t 100% follow the directions, or read them all the way though (shocking), so not sure what I did wrong.  But the size fits me well and I feel like I might have a few more of these in my future.  

DSC_1654DSC_1653

Just look how professional this little baby is?  And oh my! Is that Liberty fabric I see for the pocket lining?  Lordy me, I just think it is. How fancy!

I know, I know, no pictures of me actually wearing the darn thing.  What can I say, the lighting is terrible all day, every day this time of year.  Maybe I’ll try to go outside with my camera, in the middle of the day, while wearing the skirt, and figure out the timer on my camera, sometime soon.  But no one hold their breath or anything. 

[EDIT]

+Photos of Maeve in skirt!  Sorry it’s a tad blurry, I need to figure out how to take pictures of myself in this bleak winter darkness.

DSC_1662

I mean, not super exciting as you can’t se any detail.  But proof it fits!

One thought on “Corduroy

Leave a Reply

