Desert Shirtdress

Grainline Studio's Alder Shirtdress by MaeveMade
I’m pretty in love with the Alder Shirtdress by Grainline Studio. This version is a good vacation dress, breezy fun, colorful, but yet slightly polished. I feel like I could wear it to the Grand Canyon and still get into a fancy restaurant for dinner (if I went to fancy restaurants for dinner).
Grainline Studio's Alder Shirtdress by MaeveMade

I didn’t wear it to the Grand Canyon (we went hiking) but I did wear it on the drive back to the airport. I made my boo stop on the side of the road somewhere near the Hoover Dam to get in the pretty background. He had a slight trouble understanding why we couldn’t just take picture in the back yard. It’s a desert dress! We have to take pictures in the desert!

Grainline Studio's Alder Shirtdress by MaeveMade
(Totally worth it)
I bought this fabric sometime last summer at Harts Fabric on a trip to Santa Cruz. I’m fairly positive I bought it specifically for this pattern. Knowing that you think I would have bought just a smidge extra for stripe matching but naw, why be prepared? I like to live on the edge. Thankfully most of the stripes match up rul well. The only thing is I wish I had moved the left top piece over slightly so the pattern in the pink matched up on both sides. I also wish I had extra fabric so I could wrap everything I own in it and make a matching entire wardrobe. It’s so soft and lovely! Sadly I used every bit of it for this dress and it looks to be sold out all over the interwebs.
But take a look at that back collar! Dats some nice matching.
Grainline Studio's Alder Shirtdress by MaeveMade
The pockets, on the other hand, were a happy accident.
Pockets for Grainline Studio's Alder Shirtdress by MaeveMade
I didn’t realize the stripes repeated in reverse, so when I cut out the pockets it took me a sec to figure out why everything didn’t match up perfectly. But then I decided I liked it better. I think it makes the pockets stand out, but not too much. In a nice way.
 Grainline Studio's Alder Shirtdress by MaeveMade
I really like how the pattern fits. I made no changes other then grading from a 10 up top to a 12 in the tush. I think next round I could cut a straight ten and be fine. It’s a loose fit and I would mind the waist having slightly more shaping. I’ll also move the buttons a tad in the next rendition. It pulls slightly up top which I think could be fixed better with button placement then with sizing.
On our way home from the Grand Canyon we also stopped by a small diner for some breakfast and found this beauty…
QUILTS!
They really know how to get me!
Grainline Studio's Alder Shirtdress by MaeveMade
I’ll end with this pic. Not sure what’s happening in this photo, I think I might have lost something.
Leave a Reply

